hometour_kongwee1

Poster Design by Kong Wee Pang, Photograhs by Jay Adkins

What a treat this year’s Evergreen Home Tour was. It was my first. I’m definitely excited and anticipating next year’s show of historic homes. Here’s all the homes on this year’s tour and my humble opinion of them (I’m sure y’all care). We started at 1862 Overton Park and then meandered our way to our last stop, which turned out to be the best stop for more than one reason, at 277 Kenilworth. I couldn’t have done a better job, if I tried to plan the sequence. Everything worked out perfectly. There’s a concert following the tour at the Levitt Shell, and as soon as I stop typing this post I’ll be making my way toward Overton Park for music and a pleasant late-April breeze. The Vollintine-Evergreen neighborhood is immensely charming–so glad we moved here. It does Memphis and Midtown proud.

Ok, now off to the Shell.

1862op

Facts: Arts and Craft Style / Built in 1912 / Green tile roof with a widow’s walk

What I Loved: There’s an art nouveau map cabinet in this home from the 1800s (I believe) it was the most interesting piece to me. The tour guides were very informative, the house smelled delicious (there were candles burning everywhere), and the interior decoration was done with care.

1699op

Facts: Evolving Farmhouse style / Stained concrete floors

1731galloway

Facts: Location of the first commercial business in the neighborhood / One of the first homes built in the Evergreen Historic District

What I Loved: The garden was beautiful.

1916autumn

Facts: Tudor style / Built in 1927 / Adjacent to the Memphis Zoo

What I Loved: This home has a beautiful painted mural in the upstairs bathroom and original pink marble on floor in the entry way.

722kenilworth

Facts: Tudor style / Built in 1913 / Working steam boiler

What I Loved: Everything (especially the original wood trim work). This in my opinion was the most beautiful home. Here are a few pictures of the inside of this breathtaking, charismatic home. The purple painting with the big yellow moon rising and firefly glows (it’s about the fourth picture down), that’s my mom’s work, NJ Woods. The painting hangs in the butler’s pantry.

kenil11

kenil2

kenil5-copy

kenil8

kenil7

kenil6

