Friends at ArtsMemphis invited me to attend the launch party for their new iPhone and iPod app, sponsored by Iberiabank at the Memphis College of Art (MCA). Too bad I have a Zune! But I love my Zune. Should I get an iPod? I’m feeling strangely inadequate now. After the app launch, everyone wandered, well I did, over to the Levitt Shell for a VIP reception and concert by Carrie Rodriguez. Check this girl out here, a-mazing. Her opening song, not sure of the title, but there’s a line that’s cemented in my head, and I can’t get it out: “You’re a 50’s French movieeeee.” You’ll hear in the KharaokeTube clip below. Since, clever lyrics are becoming more of an engendered species, it makes you appreciate artists like Carrie even more. Just behind the stage in the VIP area, mini ham sandwiches (which I helped myself to more than I’d like to mention), brownies, sweet pineapple and some sort of delicious garlicky hummus dip, that I’d like to swim in some day, when I get enough nerve, awaited everyone and beer of course. It was right-up-my-alley kind of fun. I met some cool people, got lost wandering around the MCA campus in the drizzling rain, and saw some great artwork. Oh the heady combination of art and music, my life would really be dull without it.

No asps were hurt, or seen, while filming these clips.

Watch.

