16thCenturyBrewer

We guzzled beer. Great beer. Beer infused with liquid smoke, beer from Brazil, beer so dark, it came with it’s own event horizon. The standouts for me during Raffe’s Beer Garden & Deli beer tasting: Browar Okocim S.A., a.k.a OK beer, and Old Peculier. They were both slightly sweet, which is why I enjoyed them most. Both are definitely keep-in-stock worthy ales. Jared was keen on the Zingu beer and so was our newfound friend and fellow bar patron Jerry or Jeff or something-or-other. I’m sure Zingu’s a great beer, however, I couldn’t really taste it, my tastebuds were still conversatin’ (yup CONVERSATIN’) with the last drop of OK beer. A few empty solo cups later, we were encouraged to try a beer, according to the hostess Kerryn, that tasted “just like beef jerky.” Indeed, it did. I like smoky, and I like meaty, but those two flavors combined with hops? Not so much. To complement our beer flights, we ate food of the Syrian variety: pita bread, hummus, baklava cigars and something that simulated lamb meat. There was a little Syrian entertainment too in the form of a belly dancer named Liz, who balanced a sword on her head and promised to dance with her pet boa constrictor at the next beer tasting. I am so there. Go Liz! Go Jerry! Go Everybody!

*Ok, the video is pretty dark and there’s at least one scene where the dancer is horizontal, cuz I have a crappy movie maker/editor, long story! You get the idea though.

