Nick Redmond is a musical treasure. In an auto-tune, plastic-beauties obsessed world, it was refreshing to see Nick’s worth as an artist, doesn’t depend on the push of a button or some gimmicky physical attribute. Although his über-cool, Samuel L. Clemens inspired mustache is a conversation piece, its coolness doesn’t come close to Nick’s obvious talent and passion for music.

After a few days of playing phone/text tag, I met Nick last Wednesday for a brief interview, in the Memphis Music Room, at Neil’s Bar & Grill in Midtown and witnessed a rising star.

Once inside Neil’s, I kind of felt out of my element, and there was no one to greet me, except a thin layer of cigarette smoke. While maneuvering between odd couples and loners who peppered the restaurant, I looked for my friends. Shout-out to Sarah, the waitress, who helped me navigate the dimly-lit bar to find them. Minutes after I joined Valerie and Khara, I turned around and saw Nick. He sat with us and we began the interview with polite, breezy conversation about Apple’s new iPad and then I launched some hard-hitting questions.

“27. Geez, you are forward. ‘How old are you?’ How many years young are you, that’s the way I like to think of it,” Nick said, after I abruptly asked how old he was moments after glorifying Apple’s latest gizmo. Smooth. I know. Ok, lesson learned: save the indiscreet questions for the end of the interview or text them. I also learned, in addition to being a solo artist, Nick makes up a third of the group Star & Micey (founding members Joshua Cosby and Geoff Smith complete the trio).  For a year and a half, they’ve been playing together and traveling the country. Out of boredom, Nick would often leave work at the renowned and prolific Ardent Recording Studios, also located in Midtown Memphis, and perform at Neil’s during their Artist Round night, where Nick and Joshua first met. Joshua gave Nick a 24-track CD to listen to and the rest is music history.

“I loved all the songs. I thought they were beautiful. I said you should let me produce some songs some time. [We] basically started on an 8 track quarter-inch tape machine, recording simple songs,” he said. “[We] went to Ardent, they liked what was going on, [they] signed the band, and the next thing we knew, they were saying you can make a record in the studio. Which is weird, because I started out helping them in a completely different light and then I ended up, after a certain point, joining the band. I love them so much.”

The chemistry they share as band mates is appreciated, he said.

“We all kind of met in this room and completely, coincidentally, ended up starting, I’d say, one of the (most fun) projects I’ve ever had a chance to be on. I mean, the guys in that band are great. We may not hit all of the right notes, but we get along,” he said.

Congeniality can go a long way in the music biz; it can make or break a band, according to Nick.

“I’ve been in projects for a long, long time, that, you know, we would get to a point and work so hard and then someone’s pride screws the whole thing up,” he said.

Six minutes after our conversation, it was time for Nick to play.  While on stage he acknowledged “some of the most talented musicians” he knew, Rebecca Almond and Jeremy Stanfill. It was a great set of original music by people, undeniably devoted to the art and craft of singing and songwriting. You can see a bit of his performance here. With genuinely talented and animated artists like Nick, it gives us a glimmer of hope that the music industry isn’t dead yet.

Article: KLG
Photo: Valerie Harris

> Thanks Nick for being the first musician featured on this homespun blog. We couldn’t have interviewed a better subject.
>
Want to hear more music? Check out Nick’s Myspace page here.


